Humboldt University of Berlin

"Humboldt University of Berlin (German: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, abbreviated HU Berlin) is a university in the central borough of Mitte in Berlin, Germany. It was established by Frederick William III on the initiative of Wilhelm von Humboldt, Johann Gottlieb Fichte and Friedrich Ernst Daniel Schleiermacher as the University of Berlin (Universität zu Berlin) in 1809, and opened in 1810, making it the oldest of Berlin´s four universities. From 1810 until its closure in 1945, it was named Friedrich Wilhelm University (German: Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität). During the Cold War the university found itself in East Berlin and was de facto split in two when the Free University of Berlin opened in West Berlin. The university received its current name in honour of Alexander and Wilhelm von Humboldt in 1949." - ( 30.10.2019)

What we know


Institution of study Außerordentlicher Professor Karl Richard Lepsius (1810-1884) Berlin 1842
Institution of study Ordentlicher Professor Karl Richard Lepsius (1810-1884) Berlin 1846-1884
Student Rechts- und Zeitungswissenschaften Götz von Houwald (1913-2001) Berlin 1934-1940

Sources & Mentions

Objects and visualizations


Berlin13.40833282470752.518333435059place of action // place of action // Place of staydb_images_gestaltung/generalsvg/place-biog.svg0.0622

Relations to time periods

Show relations to time periods